No foul on Dwyane Wade’s final shot Saturday? Heat move on after Last Two Minute report

Miami Heat athletic trainer Jay Sabol works with guard Dwyane Wade after a play during overtime against the Brooklyn Nets at the AmericanAirlines Arena in Miami on Saturday, March 31, 2018. The Nets won, 110-109. (David Santiago/El Nuevo Herald/TNS)

MIAMI — Immediately after Saturday’s 110-109 overtime loss to the Nets, Erik Spoelstra brought up the Last Two Minute report.

“There at the end, I thought Dwyane [Wade] made a heck of a move, got him into space, he got some daylight,” Spoelstra said. “I think that was about the third or fourth time I saw him just get shoved off the dribble on his way to the basket, which distorted his attempt. That was a foul I’m sure on the two-minute report tomorrow. We’ll note that and we’ll have to sit there and say thanks, thanks for nothing.”

But according to the NBA’s Last Two Minute report issued Sunday, the officials made the right decision to not call a foul on Dwyane Wade’s final shot Saturday.

“I shouldn’t have said something because sometimes when you say something they’ll definitely take the opposite angle and stance on that,” Spoelstra said with a laugh when asked about the ruling. “Whatever, that’s behind us. We got a good look at it. We have several good looks at the end.”

With the Heat trailing the Nets 110-109, Wade made a move to get to the basket and missed a potential game-winning shot from two feet away with 1.8 seconds remaining. Brooklyn forward DeMarre Carroll seemed to make contact with Wade’s right arm, but a foul was not called and the game ended in one-point Nets win.

The NBA’s Last Two Minute report confirms this was a correct non-call with the explanation: “Carroll maintains legal guarding position and makes incidental contact with Wade that does not affect his drive to the basket or ability to follow through naturally during his shot attempt.”

Aside from that controversial ending, the Last Two Minute Report did cite four incorrect or missed calls. Three of them actually benefited the Heat.

The only incorrect call that hurt Miami came when Justise Winslow was whistled for a shooting foul on Joe Harris with 1:26 remaining in overtime. The report states that it was not a foul because it was a clean block.

Harris went on to make one of the two free throws to put the Nets ahead 108-105.

What is a Last Two Minute report? For every game that’s within three points at any point in the final two minutes of the fourth quarter or the final two minutes of any overtime period, the NBA analyzes the final two minutes and issues a report on the officiating the next day.

“That report sucks,” said Wade, who practiced Monday despite falling hard on his left wrist late in Saturday’s loss. “I’ve said that multiple times. That report is awful for the game of basketball.”

[Hassan Whiteside regrets expletive-filled rant: ‘I could have handled it different’]

[Mailbag: What’s next for the Miami Heat and Hassan Whiteside?]

[Heat still waiting to clinch playoff spot, with next opportunity set for Tuesday]

[Want more Heat news sent directly to your Facebook feed? Make sure to like our Heat Facebook page]